With the lack of opportunity for students & staff in Catholic schools in NSW to participate and be selected in state and national school sport pathways, a group of advocates petitioned state governments for equality in accessibility.  In 1995, that came to fruition, with NSWCCC  participating in NSW All Schools events, and MacKillop and Polding participating in NSW PSSA events with the public school sector and with Combined Independent Schools. The over riding group Catholic Sports Coordinating Committee (CSCC) oversaw the implementation and the continuance of the sport pathway program for Catholic school students.

In 2012, the Dioceses formed Catholic Schools Sports Services (CSSS) to take the company into a new phase and an expansion of the service giving additional support to the Dioceses.

In 2019, Catholic Schools NSW brought CSSS in as a sub division to be known as Catholic Schools NSW Sport. The aim of the program remains the provision of sporting pathways opportunities for students & staff in NSW Catholic schools ensuring diversity and inclusiveness.



Still to come

CCC Logo 2014



Students in NSW Catholic Primary Schools had limited representative opportunities in sport prior to 1995. In 1982, mutually interested dioceses developed sporting exchanges in Rugby League, Netball and Hockey, where students had the chance to compete against other diocesan teams. In 1987, an Inter Diocesan Sports Council comprising the Dioceses of Armidale, Bathurst, Canberra/Goulburn, Lismore, Maitland/Newcastle, Parramatta, Wagga Wagga, Wilcannia/Forbes and Wollongong was established. On an invitational basis these Dioceses also took part in swimming, cross country and athletics carnivals.  Events were held in Sydney and NSW country towns and gave students attending Catholic primary schools the opportunity to represent their school and ultimately their diocese in these sports. 

In 1995 the NSW Catholic Primary School Sports Council (NSW CPSSC) was established to coordinate a representative sports structure involving students and teachers in the NSW Catholic primary and central schools. The Council is made up of appointed representatives from each of the NSW Catholic Dioceses and is accountable to the Conference of Directors. The NSW CPSSC acted under the authority of the Catholic Sports Coordinating Committee (CSCC) until 2012, when it was replaced by the Catholic Schools Sports Services (CSSS). In 2019, NSWCPS became an entity within the Catholic Schools NSW Sport arm of CSNSW.

The NSWCPS is comprised of two (2) regions eligible to participate in the NSW PSSA state fixtures.

MacKillop                 Polding
The Archdiocese of Canberra/Goulburn - Navy and gold   Diocese of Armidale - Red and blue with white
Diocese of Parramatta - Gold and royal blue   Diocese of Bathurst - Bottle green
The Archdiocese of Sydney - Red, gold and green   Diocese of Broken Bay - Royal blue and white
Diocese of Wagga Wagga - Light blue and red   Diocese of Lismore - Black and white
Diocese of Wollongong - Red & white   Diocese of Maitland/Newcastle - Emerald green and white
    Diocese of Wilcannia/Forbes - Bottle green and gold
                                  MacKillop Logo 2012                               Polding Logo 2012